Man City have been crowned champions of the 2020-21 Premier League

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne celebrates after scoring his team’s fifth goal with teammates Phil Foden and Riyad Mahrez during the Premier League match between Manchester City and Southampton at the Etihad Stadium on March 10, 2021 in Manchester, England.

Clive Brunskill | Getty Images Sports | Getty Images

Manchester City have been crowned Premier League champions 2020-21 following Manchester United’s loss to Leicester.

Pep Guardiola’s side had to wait after changes to the schedule and their own slip to celebrate their latest triumph.

A late loss to Chelsea last weekend when closest rivals United won at Aston Villa kept City’s champagne on hold but they eventually reclaimed the Premier League title from Liverpool before kicking another ball as the side of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer was beaten 2-1 on Tuesday after 10 changes to their starting line-up.

City have now won three Premier League titles and eight major trophies under Guardiola, who signed a new two-year deal last year to stay with the club until 2023.

Read more stories from Sky Sports

How City triumphed after a slow start

City are the Kings of England again, but sailing was far from easy in the first half of the campaign.

They won only five of their first 13 league games and were positioned almost exclusively in the lower half of the table until December.

But that bad form ended abruptly after a 1-1 draw with West Brom at Etihad.

An impressive 21-game streak of wins in all competitions followed, including 15 back-to-back Premier League wins to build a 12-point lead on the table – before the run ended in a 2-0 loss to Manchester United in March.

Despite a slow start, City has paved the way for all key metrics at both ends of the pitch.

Their dominance on the ball and in the high press was also unsurpassed, as they made more passes and recoveries in the attacking third than any other team.

One of the outstanding features of the season in City was the frequent lack of a recognized striker.

Their top scorer in the Premier League is midfielder Ilkay Gundogan, followed by wingers Riyad Mahrez and Raheem Sterling.

In fact, Guardiola has not started Gabriel Jesus or Sergio Aguero in 12 league games this season and has averaged a higher score than starting either or both.

Now for the elusive Champions League trophy?

The city remains on course for a treble this season.

After Guardiola’s troops had already secured the Carabao Cup with a 1-0 win over Tottenham and won the Premier League title, they were able to end their season with the club’s first Champions League trophy after reaching the final for the first time.

City will face Chelsea in an all-English final on May 29.


Katherine Clark